article/chapter Imageun

In the Mirror of the European Neighbourhood (Policy). Mapping Macro-Regional Imaginations (Imageun)

Betty Rouland & Étienne Toureille, Le carnets de l’IRMC, janvier 2021

Fortuitous meetings can lead to the emergence of innovative research projects. For instance, the Franco-German project Imageun officially started in the beginning of September 2020. This research project is part of the Franco-German call for projects in Humanities and Social Sciences funded by the French National Research Agency (ANR) and the German Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) for a period of 36 months.

The European Union is in a phase of substantial spatial and social restructuring: its territory has increased through the accession of 13 Eastern and Southern European countries since 2004; it has given itself a new constitution in form of the Lisbon Treaty; it is trying to cope with a severe financial crisis and the rise of nationalism and autocratic appeal in and around it; and currently it has to work through the loss of a member for the first time in its history. Simultaneously, the EU’s neighbourhood is also undergoing severe transformations. Not only because the “neighbourhood” changes in form of accession to the EU or secession from it (Brexit), but also in light of geopolitical shifts, such as the conflict in Ukraine, the effects of the Arab revolutions (including the wars in Syria and Libya) and the power aspirations of Turkey, Russia, Iran and some Arab States. The socio-spatial shape of the entire macro-region around the EU, often termed the “European neighbourhood”, thus, has been changing substantially – and with it the relations between EU-members and non-members within this macro-region. Also beyond the EU and its neighbourhood, seemingly stable macro-regional orderings of the world are in flux. These transformations of global macro-regional ordering and the changing meanings of “Europe”, the EU and the relations with its “neighbours” are in the centre of this project.

Against this background, we propose to explore geographical imaginations of the socio-spatial shape of this macro-region and the spaces of interaction within it, focusing on five key countries in and around the EU: Germany, France, the UK, Tunisia, and Turkey. Then, three levels of geopolitical analysis will be covered: higher education systems, political stakeholders, media outlets. In so doing we will contribute to contemporary academic debates on macro-regionalization, Europeanization, the sociospatiality of the EU, and its international identity and role – including the relations with its neighbourhood and the socio-spatial shape of a larger (European) macro-region around it. More concretely, we pursue two key ambitions. Firstly, we aim to develop a comprehensive and dual comparative account of dominant geographical imaginations between five countries and three levels of geopolitical analysis decisive for shaping such imaginations. Secondly, and in addition to the academic output, we intend to not only study geopolitical agents on these levels but actively work with them for collectively developing visions on the future socio-spatial shape of the macro-region. As such, collaboration with fellow researchers, think tanks, political stakeholders and journalists is an essential and enduring part of this project that ensures broad public visibility and high political buy-in through the inclusion of these agents in the research process.


More...

Read the article (in French) in Le carnet de l’IRMC

en_GB

article/chapitre Imageun

In the Mirror of the European Neighbourhood (Policy). Mapping Macro-Regional Imaginations (Imageun)

Betty Rouland & Étienne Toureille, Le carnets de l’IRMC, janvier 2021

De rencontres fortuites peuvent émerger des recherches innovantes à l’instar du projet franco-allemand Imageun qui a débuté officiellement en septembre 2020. Cette recherche s’inscrit dans le cadre des appels à projets franco-allemands en SHS financés par l’ANR et la DFG pour une période de 36 mois.

L’Union européenne se trouve dans une phase de restructuration spatiale et sociale importante : son territoire s’est agrandi grâce à l’adhésion de 13 pays d’Europe de l’Est et du Sud depuis 2004 ; elle s’est dotée d’une nouvelle constitution sous la forme du traité de Lisbonne ; elle tente de faire face à une grave crise financière et à la montée du nationalisme et de l’autocratie en son sein et autour d’elle ; et elle doit actuellement faire face à la perte d’un membre pour la première fois de son histoire. Simultanément, son voisinage subit également de profondes transformations. Non seulement parce que le “voisinage” change sous la forme d’une adhésion à l’UE ou d’une sécession de celle-ci (Brexit), mais aussi à la lumière des changements géopolitiques, tels que le conflit en Ukraine, les effets des révolutions arabes (y compris les guerres en Syrie et en Libye) et les aspirations de puissance de la Turquie, de la Russie, de l’Iran et de certains États arabes. La forme socio-spatiale de l’ensemble de la macro-région entourant l’UE, souvent appelée le “voisinage européen”, a donc considérablement changé – et avec elle les relations entre les membres de l’UE et les non-membres au sein de cette macro-région. Au-delà de l’UE et de son voisinage, des organisations macro-régionales du monde apparemment stables sont également en mutation. Ces transformations de l’ordre macro-régional mondial et l’évolution des significations de l'”Europe”, de l’UE et des relations avec ses “voisins” sont au centre de ce projet.

Dans ce contexte, nous proposons d’explorer les imaginaires géographiques de la forme socio-spatiale de cette macrorégion et les espaces d’interaction en son sein, en nous concentrant sur cinq pays clés dans et autour de l’UE : l’Allemagne, la France, le Royaume-Uni, la Tunisie et la Turquie. Ensuite, trois niveaux d’analyse géopolitique seront couverts : les systèmes d’enseignement supérieur, les acteurs politiques, les médias. Ce faisant, nous contribuerons aux débats académiques contemporains sur la macro-régionalisation, l’européanisation, la sociospatialité de l’UE, son identité et son rôle international – y compris les relations avec son voisinage et la forme socio-spatiale d’une macro-région (européenne) plus large autour d’elle. Plus concrètement, nous poursuivons deux ambitions clés. Premièrement, nous visons à développer un compte rendu comparatif complet et double des imaginaires géographiques dominants entre cinq pays et trois niveaux d’analyse géopolitique décisifs pour la formation de ces imaginaires. Deuxièmement, et en plus de la production académique, nous avons l’intention de ne pas seulement étudier les agents géopolitiques à ces niveaux, mais de travailler activement avec eux pour développer collectivement des visions sur la future forme socio-spatiale de la macro-région. En tant que telle, la collaboration avec des collègues chercheurs, des groupes de réflexion, des acteurs politiques et des journalistes est une partie essentielle et durable de ce projet qui assure une large visibilité publique et une forte adhésion politique grâce à l’inclusion de ces agents dans le processus de recherche.


En savoir plus

Lire l’article dans Le carnet de l’IRMC

fr_FR