logo


Date

22 March 2014 // 15:30 – 17:00






The 3rd Southeast Asian Studies Symposium dedicated to “Southeast Asia in Transition” takes place in Keble College, University of Oxford on March 22nd and 23rd, 2014

Céline Pierdet will intervene for the Risks strand of the CIST in the “Decentralisation, Development, and Democratisation in Southeast Asia” panel.

The river capitals Phnom Penh and Bangkok are subject to very high stresses in their urban development. They have expanded behind the bank of the rivers with dikes and embankments on the river floodplains. So they are very vulnerable to natural disasters such as flooding.

Since the early 1970s, it is now common to assimilate a city to a system, closed (Forrester W.J. 1969) or opened (Rosnay de J. 1975). The major crisis suffered under the Khmer Rouge regime damaged hydraulic networks. Moreover, most of the city dwellers and elites were killed in a genocide charge of 1.7 million victims. Why can we talk about resilience for this city-system since 1979?

We define resilience as “the ability of a system to integrate a disruption in its run, without changing the qualitative structure” (Holling C.S. 1973). More recently, in Phnom Penh and Bangkok, speculative projects to private investors reject in the outskirts of cities the poorest populations. The consequences are social, but also environmental. Firstly the peripheral areas, in contrast to the city center, having no embankments, are prone to flooding, with no proper drainage systems. Secondly the proliferation of high-rise towers worsens the process of subsidence and flooding vulnerability of cities.

Why speculative urban projects of the private investors located in the central and the peripheral areas (i.e. new skyscrapers andnew towns) are they going to worsen the vulnerability of cities to flooding?

More…

Bangkok and Phnom Penh between local politics of resilience and new speculative real estate projects

22 mars 2014 // 15:30 - 17:00


Le 3e symposium d’études sur l’Asie du Sud-Est consacré à “l’Asie du Sud-Est en transition” a lieu au Keble College, Université d’Oxford, les 22 et 23 mars 2014.

Céline Pierdet intervient dans le cadre de l’axe Risques du CIST dans le panel “Decentralisation, Development, and Democratisation in Southeast Asia”.

Les capitales fluviales Phnom Penh et Bangkok sont soumises à de très fortes contraintes dans leur développement urbain. Elles se sont étendues derrière les berges des rivières, avec des digues et des remblais sur les plaines inondables. Elles sont donc très vulnérables aux catastrophes naturelles telles que les inondations.
Depuis le début des années 1970, il est désormais courant d’assimiler une ville à un système, fermé (Forrester W.J. 1969) ou ouvert (Rosnay de J. 1975). La crise majeure subie sous le régime des Khmers rouges a endommagé les réseaux hydrauliques. De plus, la plupart des citadins et des élites ont été tués dans un génocide qui a fait 1,7 million de victimes. Pourquoi peut-on parler de résilience pour cette ville-système depuis 1979 ?
Nous définissons la résilience comme “la capacité d’un système à intégrer une perturbation dans son fonctionnement, sans en changer la structure qualitative” (Holling C.S. 1973). Plus récemment, à Phnom Penh et à Bangkok, des projets spéculatifs à destination des investisseurs privés rejettent en périphérie des villes les populations les plus pauvres. Les conséquences sont sociales, mais aussi environnementales. D’abord les zones périphériques, contrairement au centre ville, n’ayant pas de digues, sont sujettes aux inondations, sans système de drainage adéquat. Ensuite, la prolifération des tours aggrave le processus d’affaissement et la vulnérabilité des villes aux inondations.
Pourquoi les projets urbains spéculatifs des investisseurs privés situés dans les zones centrales et périphériques (c’est-à-dire les nouveaux gratte-ciel et les nouvelles villes) vont-ils aggraver la vulnérabilité des villes aux inondations ?

En savoir plus

fr_FR