Call for sessions CIST2023 – Learning from territories / Teaching territories


Apprendre des territoires / Enseigner les territoires
Aprender de los territorios / Enseñar los territorios (es)
Learning from Territories / Teaching Territories (en)
Lernen von den Territorien / Lehren die Territorien (de)
Aprender com os territórios / Territórios que ensinam (pt)
تَعَلُّم المجال / تَعْلِيمْ المجال (ar)

The 6th CIST conference, coordinated by Claude Grasland and France Guérin-Pace, will take place from November 15th to 17th, 2023 on the Condorcet campus (Paris-Aubervilliers).

In German (lehren / lernenas in Arabic (تعليم / تعلم), a single letter distinguishes the concept of teaching from the concept of learning. Whether defined as a theoretical object of scientific knowledge that can be taught or as a body of practices that can be passed on, there is no escaping the need to address the issue of the relationship between the apparent universality of the concept of territory, on the one hand, and the variety of uses to which the term is put and the range of practices associated with it, on the other. The 6th CIST conference will focus on two questions: how to teach about territories (academic knowledge, empirical methods, disciplinary approaches, etc.) and how to learn from territories (observing, exploring, describing, experiencing, etc.). At the intersection of these two questions lie a number of issues, both theoretical and practical, not the least of which is whether territory is above all an object or a subject of knowledge.

Session proposals may focus either on the general topics for discussion at the conference or on the specific topics related to CIST research areas.

General topics

Building a lexicon

The translation of the "terms" used in the territorial sciences, whether between languages or between disciplines, constitutes a litmus test for judging the degree of universality and relativity of these concepts as well as the variety of applications and practices involved. The 6th international CIST conference will be an opportunity to relaunch the ambitious project of creating a multilingual and interdisciplinary lexicon for the territorial sciences. This project will entail examining the issue of "territorialised knowledge" in relation to local or global transitions, and more generally to the knowledge involved in territorial learning, whether it be academic or practical in nature. Special sessions aimed at sharing instructional approaches are particularly welcome.

Learning territories

The idea that territories can be, under certain conditions, considered as collective subjects capable of developing strategies of competitiveness or cooperation has long been postulated [1]. From learning regions [2] to best practices [3], a vast body of knowledge has been built up, some of which stems from technocratic practices, some from scientific debates. A forum for discussion and dialogue between practitioners and theoreticians, the 6th CIST conference will provide an opportunity to revisit these debates, which remain as relevant as ever.

Transitions, crises and upheavals

Against the backdrop of growing individualism, does the concept of territory constitute a new collective approach to thinking about processes that relate to time and space; past, present and future; local and global? To what extent do the territorial sciences provide a critique of the resurgence of nationalism or of insularity based on the exploitation of imaginary origins? The local impact of the multiple crises (ecology, health, economy, etc.) that are affecting our societies inevitably raises questions about the contribution of the territorial sciences to this debate, arguing as they do in favour of the circulation of models, while maintaining a critical stance towards the problems of symbolic and political domination that these models entail. The territorial sciences also raise the question of the "transitional capacity" of territories as well as their role in the process of moving from niche (local) innovations to structural transformations. In the Anthropocene era, risks can no longer be approached or managed in the same way as they were in the 20th century [4].

Digital territories

Given the growing prominence of virtual digital universes and of algorithms used to optimise the dissemination of information and knowledge, the issue of the rootedness of territorial knowledge in specific settings, places or situations is an important one. The role of large technological firms in reshaping territories and how they are perceived should not be overlooked, both in terms of mapping (Google Maps/OSM) and of efforts to refashion social networks (Facebook / Meta).

Specific topics

A&T (Actions & territorialisations)

The conference will address territorial dynamics and the structure of systems aimed at capitalising on past experimentation, as well as the design of instruments of regulation and reflexivity which enable action to be taken. Sessions may focus on:

  • the impact of local debates over public policy choices in the context of participatory processes, conflicts or controversies, or planning;
  • the issue of territorial innovation and processes of localised change.

INFTER (Local Territorial Information)

What learning challenges arise from the increasing diversity of local data sources (whether caused by the digital revolution, by the increased sensitivity of technical indicators, by the trend towards open data, etc.). Possible session topics:

  • the relationship between territorialised information and the capacity of individuals to learn from it;
  • the growing involvement of citizens in scientific research.

MEDIA (Medias and Territories)

Media and cultural representations of territories are both the result of a learning process and contributors to the process of constructing or reconstructing physical and imaginary spaces. Possible session topics might include:

  • heritage policies and the symbolic enhancement of sites;
  • the role of traditional or social media in the construction of collective territorial representations.

MIT (Mobilities, Identities and Territories)

The various local and regional bodies in charge of mobility are currently developing measures and offerings that aim to bring about changes in the way people move about. Against this backdrop, possible topics for discussion include:

  • education about mobility and the "instructional" methods used in these types of initiatives;
  • territorial inequalities in terms of access to education and training in a context where more and more training is taking place online.

PAST (Territories in the long run)

How should we teach or analyse the socio-environmental trends affecting territories over the long term? And what weight should be attached to each of the different factors involved in the construction of these territories? Possible session topics:

  • the reaction of particular environments and societies in specific contexts (phases of transition, crises or upheavals);
  • the limits and challenges of the methods used to study these territories and their development over the long term, with respect to the various spatio-temporal scales in question.

REMOC (Regionalisations, Globalisations, Circulations)

The interplay between flows, networks and circulation at the global level can be addressed through the concepts of regionalisation and globalisation, both of which are academic, scientific and ideological constructions. Possible session topics:

  • the variability of geographical perceptions that govern the way the world is divided up;
  • a bottom-up approach to representations of globalisation from the perspective of those affected by the process.

SANTE (Territories and Health)

Even before the global lesson in epidemiology imparted by the Covid-19 crisis, the issue of territorial inequalities in terms of health and access to health care was increasingly to the forefront of public opinion. Possible session topics:

  • local processes of learning about or resisting the health regulations put in place by public authorities;
  • health and medico-social systems for the collection and reporting of information on health issues at various territorial levels.

Mobilising the CIST's expertise

The foregoing topics will involve (re)examining the research conducted by the CIST over the past twelve years and the groundwork laid by its five international conferences.

  • Inasmuch as they constitute a kind of societal memory, territories act as repositories for the individual and collective experiences for which they have acted as a venue. This accumulated information constitutes a pool of models or experiences that may be disseminated, merged or combined over time. The resulting spatial structures exhibit a high degree of inertia that is sometimes out of step with the needs of the present. The past, present and future of territories are inseparable (5th CIST conference, Population, Time, Territories, Paris-Aubervilliers, 2020).
  • As both objects and subjects of representation, the material and imaginary characteristics of territories vary depending on the perspective of the actors who produce and/or observe them. In certain instances, irreconcilable visions of territories have practical implications that can lead to (scientific, political and legal) conflicts, resulting in legal proceedings brought on behalf of territories (4th CIST conference, Representing Territories, Rouen, 2018).
  • The interface between territorial theory and practice is frequently problematic, and this raises the question of how to go about teaching and studying the territorial sciences. Establishing a dialogue between teachers, researchers and practitioners in this area is one of the key aims of the CIST (3rd CIST conference, Looking for Territories?, Grenoble, 2016).
  • The wide range of disciplines interested in the subject of territories complicates the process of establishing the territorial sciences both from a research and teaching point of view. Compounding this difficulty are challenges related to translation, which are inevitable in an international setting, and which highlight conceptual differences that are often intractable (2nd CIST conference, Frontiers and Boundaries of Territorial Sciences, Paris Rive Gauche, 2014).
  • Finally, the distinction between territorial science(s) and metascience(s), which was discussed at the first CIST conference (Founding Territorial Sciences, Paris, 2011), remains more topical than ever. Raising the question of whether we should be teaching one (or several distinct) territorial science(s) involves once again addressing the issue of whether we should be creating a new discipline/meta-discipline or, more modestly, whether we should simply be sharing and comparing different bodies of knowledge or types of expertise.

Provisional Calendar

Session Proposal Guidelines

The languages of the conference are French, English and Spanish.
Researchers, teaching researchers and doctoral students can propose sessions.

Proposals should include:

  • Title, and subtitle when appropriate,
  • Presentation of the issue to be explored (between 180 and 250 words),
  • Indicative bibliography on the subject of the session (5 to 10 references).

These first three items should be written in French and in one of the other two languages of the conference (English or Spanish). They will be used to draft the call for papers of the selected sessions.

The following items may be written in any of the three languages:

  • The potential opportunities envisaged (publications, partnerships, network expansion),
  • The individuals, research teams or laboratories targeted (within or outside CIST),
  • A short CV of the session co-facilitators (1/2 page).

Procedures for Evaluating the Session Proposals

The proposed sessions will be evaluated by the conference’s scientific board, which includes the members of the CIST Scientific Committee and various external individuals. Session proposals will be evaluated according to the following criteria:

  • Consistency with the general theme of the conference,
  • Openness to a multidisciplinary approach.

Credit will also be given to:

  • Sessions co-facilitated by individuals from different research teams or organisations,
  • Sessions that are open to international contributions.
[1] Camagni R., 2002, "On the Concept of Territorial Competitiveness: Sound or Misleading?", Urban Studies, 39(13), p. 2395-2412 ; Jambes J.-P., 2001, Territoires apprenants. Esquisses pour le développement local du XXIe siècle.
[2] Asheim B.T., 1996, "Industrial Districts as 'Learning Regions': A Condition for Prosperity", European planning studies, 4(4), p. 379-400.
[3] Stead D., 2012, "Best Practices and Policy Transfer in Spatial Planning", Planning Practice and Research, 27(1), p. 103-116.
[4] Cutter S.L., 2021, "The Changing Nature of Hazard and Disaster Risk in the Anthropocene", Annals of the American Association of Geographers, 111(3), p. 819-827.

Download the call for sessions   

Further information on the site dedicated to the conference

en_GB

AAS CIST2023 – Apprendre des territoires / Enseigner les territoires


Apprendre des territoires / Enseigner les territoires
Aprender de los territorios / Enseñar los territorios (es)
Learning from Territories / Teaching Territories (en)
Lernen von den Territorien / Lehren die Territorien (de)
Aprender com os territórios / Territórios que ensinam (pt)
تَعَلُّم المجال / تَعْلِيمْ المجال (ar)

Le 6e colloque du CIST, coorganisé par Claude Grasland et France Guérin-Pace, se tiendra sur le campus Condorcet (Paris-Aubervilliers) du 15 au 17 novembre 2023

En allemand (lehren / lernen) comme en arabe (تعليم / تعلم) une seule lettre suffit pour passer du concept d’enseignement au concept d’apprentissage. Que le territoire soit défini comme un objet théorique de connaissance scientifique que l’on peut enseigner ou comme un corpus de pratiques que l’on peut transmettre, se pose de manière incontournable la question du rapport entre l’universalité apparente du concept de territoire et la diversité des emplois de la notion et des pratiques qui lui sont associées. La double question posée par le 6e colloque du CIST est à la fois de savoir comment enseigner les territoires (savoirs académiques, méthodes empiriques, approches disciplinaires, etc.) et comment apprendre des territoires (observer, découvrir, décrire, expérimenter, etc.). Le croisement de ces deux questions ouvre plusieurs débats, à la fois théoriques et pratiques, dont le moindre n’est pas de savoir si le territoire est avant tout objet ou sujet de connaissance.

Les propositions de sessions porteront aux choix sur les enjeux généraux du colloque ou sur les enjeux spécifiques suggérés par les axes de recherche du CIST.

Enjeux généraux

Un lexique à construire

La traduction des « mots » des sciences territoriales, d’une langue à une autre ou d’une discipline à une autre, constitue une épreuve de vérité pour juger tant de l’universalité des concepts que de la relativité des notions et finalement de la diversité des usages et pratiques. Le 6e colloque international du CIST pourra être l’occasion de relancer l’ambitieux projet de création d’un lexique à la fois multilingue et interdisciplinaire des sciences territoriales. Ce projet de lexique conduira à se poser la question des « savoirs territorialisés » face aux transitions locales ou globales, et plus généralement aux savoirs mobilisés dans les apprentissages territoriaux, qu’ils soient académiques ou pratiques. Des sessions spéciales consacrées aux échanges de pratiques pédagogiques seront particulièrement bienvenues.

Des territoires apprenants

L’hypothèse que les territoires peuvent être, sous certaines conditions, considérés comme des sujets collectifs à même de définir des stratégies de compétitivité ou de coopération a été postulée depuis longtemps [1]. Des learning regions [2] aux best practices [3], s’est constitué un vaste corpus d’expériences qui relèvent tantôt de pratiques technocratiques, tantôt de débats scientifiques. Lieu d’échange et de dialogue entre praticiens et théoriciens, le 6e colloque du CIST constituera une opportunité de revenir sur ces débats, toujours d’actualité.

Transitions, crises et ruptures

Dans un contexte de montée de l’individualisme, le territoire constitue-t-il une nouvelle pensée collective des dynamiques liant temps et espace ; passé, présent et futur ; local et global ? Comment les sciences territoriales produisent-elles une critique du retour du nationalisme ou des formes de repli sur soi à travers la promotion d’hypothétiques origines ? Les enjeux territoriaux des crises multiples (écologie, santé, économie, etc.) qui frappent les sociétés conduisent inévitablement à s’interroger sur l’apport à ce débat des sciences territoriales qui défendent la circulation des modèles tout en gardant une posture critique vis-à-vis des enjeux de domination symbolique et politique dont ils sont porteurs. Les sciences territoriales soulèvent aussi la question de la « capacité transitionnelle » des territoires ainsi que leur place dans le passage d’innovations de niches (locales) à des transformations structurelles. À l’heure de l’Anthropocène, les risques ne peuvent plus être pensés ou gouvernés de la même façon qu’au siècle dernier [4].

Territoires numériques

Face à la montée en puissance des univers numériques virtuels et des algorithmes d’optimisation de la circulation des informations et des connaissances, se pose finalement la question de l’enracinement des savoirs territoriaux dans des contextes, des lieux ou des situations donnés. Le rôle des grandes firmes technologiques dans la reconfiguration des territoires et de leur perception ne saurait être écarté, aussi bien dans sa dimension cartographique (Google Maps / OSM) que dans sa tentative de reconfiguration de l’univers social (Facebook / Meta).

Enjeux spécifiques

A&T (Actions & territorialisations)

Le colloque renvoie à des enjeux de connaissance des dynamiques territoriales et d’organisation des dispositifs de capitalisation des expérimentations, à la conception de dispositifs de régulation et de réflexivité permettant l’action. Des sessions pourraient porter sur :

  • les effets des débats locaux sur des choix publics territoriaux dans le cadre de dispositifs de participations, de conflits ou controverses ou de prospectives ;
  • la question de l’innovation territoriale et des processus de transition localisée.

INFTER (Information territoriale locale)

Quelles difficultés d’apprentissage soulève la diversification des sources de données locales, qu’elles soient générées par la révolution numérique, par la résolution de plus en plus fine des capteurs techniques, par le mouvement d’ouverture des données, etc. ? Des sessions pourraient porter sur :

  • les rapports entre informations territorialisées et capacité d’apprentissage des acteurs ;
  • l’essor des sciences participatives et des citoyenne·s capteurs.

MEDIA (Médias et territoires)

Les représentations médiatiques et culturelles des territoires sont à la fois le résultat d’un processus d’apprentissage et des facteurs de construction ou de reconstruction des espaces physiques et imaginaires. Parmi de nombreux sujets possibles, des sessions pourraient porter sur :

  • les démarches de patrimonialisation et de mise en valeur symbolique des lieux ;
  • le rôle des médias classiques ou sociaux dans la construction des imaginaires territoriaux.

MIT (Mobilités, identités et territoires)

Les différents acteurs territoriaux en charge de la mobilité développent aujourd’hui des dispositifs et des offres qui visent à changer ou faire changer les pratiques de mobilité des individus. Dans ce contexte, on peut notamment questionner de façon critique :

  • la dimension de l’apprentissage et des modes « pédagogiques » utilisés dans ces types d’opérations ;
  • les inégalités territoriales en termes d’accès à l’apprentissage dans le contexte d’une offre de formation numérique de plus en plus importante.

PAST (Temps longs des territoires)

Comment enseigner ou comprendre les dynamiques socio-environnementales qui sont enregistrées par les territoires sur le temps long ? Et quelle place donner à chacune des différentes variables dans la construction de ces territoires ? Des sessions pourraient porter sur :

  • la réponse des paysages et des sociétés dans des contextes particuliers (phases de transition, de crises ou de ruptures) ;
  • les limites et enjeux des méthodes utilisées pour appréhender ces territoires et leur construction sur le temps long selon les échelles spatio-temporelles considérées.

REMOC (Régionalisations, mondialisations, circulations)

Les interactions entre flux, réseaux et circulations au niveau mondial sont appréhendées à travers les concepts de régionalisation et de mondialisation qui sont des constructions à la fois scolaires, scientifiques et idéologiques. Des sessions pourraient porter sur :

  • la variabilité des imaginaires géographiques présidant au découpage du Monde ;
  • une approche par le bas et par les acteurs des représentations de la mondialisation.

SANTE (Territoires et santé)

Avant même l’universelle leçon d’épidémiologie dispensée à la population mondiale par la crise de la Covid-19, la question des inégalités territoriales de santé et d’accès aux soins a fait l’objet d’une prise de conscience croissante dans l’opinion publique. Des sessions pourraient porter sur :

  • les processus territoriaux d’apprentissage ou de résistance aux règles sanitaires imposés par les pouvoirs publics ;
  • les systèmes sanitaires et médico-sociaux de collecte et de restitution de l’information sur les questions de santé à différentes échelles territoriales.

Mobiliser l’expérience du CIST

Les questions ainsi posées conduisent à (rė)interroger les douze années de travail du Collège international des sciences territoriales et les jalons posés par ses cinq colloques internationaux.

  • En tant que mémoire des sociétés, les territoires enregistrent les histoires individuelles et collectives qui les ont traversés. Cette accumulation constitue un réservoir de modèles ou d’expériences qui peuvent circuler, s’hybrider ou se métisser au cours du temps. Les organisations spatiales qui en résultent possèdent une forte inertie parfois en décalage avec les besoins du temps présent. Passé, présent et futur des territoires sont indissociables (5e colloque du CIST, Population, temps, territoires, Paris-Aubervilliers, 2020).
  • À la fois objets et sujets de représentation, les territoires articulent des dimensions matérielles et idéelles qui varient selon la position des acteurs qui les produisent et/ou les observent. Des perceptions des territoires parfois inconciliables en matière d’usage peuvent déboucher sur des conflits (scientifiques, politiques et juridiques) et conduire désormais à des actions en justice intentées au nom de territoires (4e colloque du CIST, Représenter les territoires, Rouen, 2018).
  • Le dialogue entre théorie et pratique des territoires apparaît souvent difficile, soulevant par là même la question des modalités d’enseignement et d’apprentissage des sciences territoriales. Instaurer un dialogue entre enseignant·es, chercheur·es et praticien·nes du territoire est une mission essentielle du CIST (3e colloque du CIST, En quête de territoire(s) ?, Grenoble, 2016).
  • La diversité des disciplines intéressées par la question des territoires complexifie l’élaboration des sciences des territoires en objet scientifique comme en objet d’enseignement. À cette difficulté s’ajoutent celles liées à la traduction, incontournable dans un cadre international, qui révèle des différences conceptuelles souvent insolubles (2e colloque du CIST, Fronts et frontières des sciences du territoire, Paris Rive Gauche, 2014).
  • Finalement, l’alternative entre science(s) ou méta science(s) des territoires, posée lors du premier colloque du CIST (Fonder les sciences du territoire, Paris, 2011), demeure plus que jamais d’actualité. Poser la question de l’enseignement d’une (ou plusieurs) science(s) du(es) territoire(s), c’est s’interroger à nouveau sur l’alternative entre fonder une science, une méta science ou plus modestement partager et confronter une collection de savoirs ou savoir-faire.

Calendrier prévisionnel

Modalités de réponse

Les langues du colloque sont le français, l’anglais et l’espagnol.
Chercheur·es, enseignant·es-chercheur·es et doctorant·es peuvent proposer une session.

Les propositions devront comprendre :

  • un titre, éventuellement un sous-titre,
  • une présentation de problématique (entre 180 et 250 mots),
  • une bibliographie indicative sur le sujet de la session (5 à 10 références).

Ces trois premiers points devront être rédigés en français et dans l’une des deux autres langues du colloque (anglais ou espagnol). Ils serviront à rédiger l’appel à communications pour les sessions sélectionnées.

Les points suivants pourront être rédigés dans l’une des trois langues :

  • les pistes de valorisation potentiellement envisagées (publications, partenariats, élargissement de réseaux),
  • les individus, équipes ou laboratoires visés (dans ou hors CIST),
  • un bref CV des co-animateur·es de sessions (1/2 page).

Modalités d’évaluation des propositions

Les sessions proposées seront évaluées par le conseil scientifique du colloque qui comprend les membres du conseil scientifique du CIST élargi à des personnalités extérieures. Les propositions de sessions seront évaluées selon les critères suivants :

  • la cohérence avec la thématique générale du colloque (enjeux généraux ou enjeux spécifiques),
  • l’ouverture à la pluridisciplinarité.

Seront par ailleurs valorisées :

  • les sessions co-animées par des porteur·es appartenant à différentes équipes ou institutions,
  • l’ouverture de la session à des contributions internationales.
[1] Camagni R., 2002, « On the Concept of Territorial Competitiveness: Sound or Misleading? », Urban Studies, 39(13), p. 2395-2412 ; Jambes J.-P., 2001, Territoires apprenants. Esquisses pour le développement local du XXIe siècle.
[2] Asheim B.T., 1996, « Industrial Districts as « Learning Regions » : A Condition for Prosperity », European planning studies, 4(4), p. 379-400.
[3] Stead D., 2012, « Best Practices and Policy Transfer in Spatial Planning », Planning Practice and Research, 27(1), p. 103-116.
[4] Cutter S.L., 2021, « The Changing Nature of Hazard and Disaster Risk in the Anthropocene », Annals of the American Association of Geographers, 111(3), p. 819-827.

Téléchargez l’appel à sessions   

Informations complètes sur le site dédié au colloque

fr_FR