INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCES

CIST organises an international conference every other year, centred on multi-disciplinary themes and gathering both the territorial research sphere and its stakeholders.

Population, Time, Territories
November 18th-20th, 2020

CIST2020 – 5th International Conference

The latest in the series of CIST conferences, this 5th international conference spotlights the concept of population as a central issue in the debates within territorial sciences. The concept of population, which is central to demography and biology and more marginal for other disciplines, involves the grouping together of individual entities. Depending on the particular approach used, the preferred criterion for aggregation will be the social, territorial, biological, etc., with timescales and observation scales varying accordingly. Linking together population, time and territory in a transdisciplinary and international perspective is the main goal of this conference; beyond the fact that it represents a theoretical and methodological breakthrough, the diversity of the proposed thematic sessions is a clear sign that this trio is at the heart of contemporary issues.


Representing Territories
Rouen, March 22nd-24th, 2018

CIST2018 – 4th International Conference

After three conferences that have successively sought to define and lay the foundations for territorial sciences (CIST2011), to go beyond disciplinary frontiers and boundaries (CIST2014), namely through interdisciplinary collaboration, and to explore territorial social demand (CIST2016), the 4th CIST conference is aimed at mobilising the territorial sciences to address the question of representation.
The conference’s objective is to use this approach and to determine its contribution to the analysis of territories from a theoretical, methodological and empirical point of view.


Looking for Territories?
Grenoble, March 17th & 18th, 2016

CIST2016 – 3rd International Conference

Above and Below the Minhocão, Mark Lewis, 2014. 5k transferred to 2k, 11’14 (detail). Film still courtesy the artist and Daniel Faria Gallery

The first two CIST conferences – Fonder les sciences du territoire , in 2011, and Frontiers and Boundaries of Territorial Sciences , in 2014– addressed a number of theoretical and practical issues in the territorial sciences. The third edition of the conference, to be held in 2016, will continue this tradition by examining the expectations of citizens, inhabitants, and public and private bodies with respect to territories.


Frontiers and Boundaries of Territorial Sciences
Paris, March 27th & 28th, 2014

CIST2014 – 2nd International Conference

Territories are both a social construction and a material existence observed by different disciplinary fields. This broad interdisciplinarity constitutes a difficult but necessary frontier. Another frontier that needs crossing is the all-too-frequent distance between researchers and stakeholders in territorial development. Territorial data are a way of rendering these confrontations productive.
The 2nd CIST international conference aimed to tackle these new frontiers by exploring six priority themes.


Fonder les sciences du territoire
Paris, November 23rd-25th, 2011

CIST2011 – Founding Conference

CIST’s founding conference aimed to establish the interdisciplinary field of territorial science in France by making it part of existing research networks in other countries.


2 in-house seminars in 2010 and 2012

Territories in Actions
Paris, November 29th & 30th, 2012

2nd In-House Seminar

With a focus on analysing the interaction between research and social demand, this annual seminar had three specific objectives:

  • Prepare the 2nd CIST international conference (March 2014)
  • Compare the research done by CIST focus areas and their progress in terms of territorial science
  • Make progress on the issues of relations between research and territorial stakeholders

CIST Founding Seminar
Paris, October 26th & 27th, 2010

2 workshops on "Themes" and "Interactions between Research and Social Demand" preceded the 1st CIST seminar.

en_GB

COLLOQUES INTERNATIONAUX

Le CIST organise un colloque international tous les deux ans, réunissant autour de thématiques pluridisciplinaires le monde de la recherche sur les territoires et celui de leurs acteurs.

Population, temps, territoires
Paris, 18-20 novembre 2020

CIST2020 – 5e colloque international

Dans la dynamique des colloques du CIST, ce 5e colloque international place le concept de population au cœur des débats des sciences territoriales. Central en démographie et en biologie, plus marginal pour d’autres disciplines, le concept de population implique un regroupement d’entités individuelles. Selon les approches, le social, le territorial, le biologique, etc. constitueront le critère privilégié d’agrégation, selon des temporalités et des échelles d’observation variables. Articuler population, temps, territoire dans une perspective transdisciplinaire et internationale est le défi de ce colloque ; au-delà d’une avancée théorique et méthodologique, la diversité des sessions thématiques proposées témoigne que ce triptyque est au cœur des enjeux contemporains.


Représenter les territoires
Rouen, 22-24 mars 2018

CIST2018 – 4e colloque international

Après trois colloques qui ont successivement cherché à fonder les sciences du territoire (CIST2011), à en dépasser les fronts et frontières (CIST2014), notamment en termes de collaborations interdisciplinaires, et enfin à explorer la demande sociale territoriale (CIST2016), le 4e colloque du CIST vise à mobiliser les sciences territoriales pour aborder la question des représentations.
L’objectif du colloque est de se saisir de cette approche des territoires par les représentations et de déterminer ce qu’elle apporte à l’analyse des territoires, d’un point de vue théorique, méthodologique et empirique.


En quête de territoire(s) ?
Grenoble, 17&18 mars 2016

CIST2016 – 3e colloque international

Above and Below the Minhocão, Mark Lewis, 2014. 5k transferred to 2k, 11’14 (detail). Film still courtesy the artist and Daniel Faria Gallery

Dans la poursuite des réflexions à la fois théoriques et pratiques engagées lors du 1er colloque sur « Fonder les sciences du territoire » en 2011 et lors du 2° en 2014 sur les « Fronts et frontières des sciences du territoire », ce 3° colloque s’organise en 2016 autour des attentes que citoyens, habitants, acteurs publics et privés peuvent développer vis-à-vis des territoires.


Fronts et frontières des sciences du territoire
Paris, 27&28 mars 2014

CIST2014 – 2e colloque international

Les territoires sont à la fois une construction sociale et une matérialité observée par différents champs disciplinaires. Cette interdisciplinarité large constitue un front pionnier difficile mais nécessaire. Une autre frontière à dépasser est celle qui, trop souvent, éloigne les chercheurs des acteurs du développement territorial. Les données territoriales constituent un des domaines par lesquels ces confrontations sont rendues fécondes.
Le 2e colloque international du Collège international des sciences du territoire (GIS CIST) se propose de défricher ces nouveaux fronts en invitant à explorer six thématiques prioritaires.


Fonder les sciences du territoire
Paris, 23-25 novembre 2011

CIST2011 – Colloque fondateur

Le colloque fondateur du CIST avait pour ambition de fonder le champ interdisciplinaire des sciences du territoire en France, en l’inscrivant dans les réseaux de recherche existant à l’étranger.


2 séminaires internes en 2010 et 2012

Territoires en actions
Paris, 29&30 novembre 2012

2e séminaire interne

Consacré à l’analyse des interactions entre recherche et demande sociale, ce séminaire annuel avait trois objectifs particuliers :

  • préparer le 2e colloque international du CIST (mars 2014)
  • croiser les travaux des axes du CIST et leurs avancées en matière de science des territoires
  • avancer sur la question des relations entre recherche et acteurs territoriaux

Séminaire fondateur du CIST
Paris, 26&27 octobre 2010

Le premier séminaire du CIST a été précédé par deux ateliers “Axes et thèmes” et “Interactions entre recherche et demande sociale”.

fr_FR