CIST

Established in 2010 on a federative basis as a scientific interest group (groupement d'intérêt scientifique - GIS) by three founding partners (Université Paris 1, Université Paris Diderot, CNRS) and by institutional partners attesting to the importance of the applied dimension of territorial sciences: DATAR (today ANCT), IAU-îdF (today Institut Paris Region) and ADEME, joined by INED and IRD, the International College of Territorial Sciences (CIST) became on January 1st, 2017 the CNRS FR2007 research federation gathering today 25 équipes de recherche.

Its objectives are to: contribute to formalising and organising this interdisciplinary field , in France and internationally, especially Europe; bring together research units working on territories; strengthen the national network of teams involved; boost their synergies (themes, methods, equipment and databases, responses to calls for tender, research dissemination events, etc.); and develop the interface between research and education (joint online courses, participation in themed digital universities, project for an international master’s degree in territorial sciences involving the universities of Paris, Besançon, Lausanne, Luxembourg, Louvain-la-Neuve, Metz, Trier, etc.).

The CIST is a high-level research and training tool (masters and doctorate) focused on territories. It is interdisciplinary: geographers, economists, sociologists and demographers, historians, lawyers, archaeologists, multidisciplinary teams or programmes. It is connected to life and earth sciences, engineering sciences and health, around 7 structuring research themes :

  • Actions & Territorialisations (A&T)
  • Local Territorial Information (INFTER)
  • Medias and Territories (MEDIA)
  • Mobilities, Identities and Territories (MIT)
  • Territories on the Long Run (PAST)
  • Regionalisations, Globalisations, Circulations (REMOC)
  • Territories and Health (SANTE)

CIST possesses a vast international network especially in Europe.
Several research teams that are members of CIST are involved in European research programmes in networks or contracts (FPs, Interreg, ESPON, EEA, European Commission, European Parliament) and thus benefit from the support of UMS RIATE. These international research relations are coupled with co-accreditations at Master’s level, creating a highly structured network with other universities in and outside Europe.
CIST currently concerns 250 research lecturers and researchers (of whom 90 supervise research), 80 technical and administrative engineers and ancillary staff and over 300 PhD students, making it an ambitious group for scientific exchange that connects territorial research networks in Ile-de-France (Paris region) with those in the rest of the country, Europe and the world.

CIST is also capable of carrying out applied research linked to social demand. Its teams interact with professionals working on land use, the environment and the sustainable development of territories. The involvement of its institutional partners guarantees effective interaction between research on territories, social demand and professional practices (e.g. applied science, studies, advice to general entrepreneurs, career prospects for PhD students, etc.).

en_GB

Qui sommes-nous ?

Constitué en 2010 sur une base fédérative comme groupement d’intérêt scientifique (GIS) par trois partenaires fondateurs (Université Paris 1, Université Paris Diderot, CNRS) et par des partenaires institutionnels attestant l’importance de la dimension appliquée des sciences du territoire : le CGET (ex-DATAR), l’IAU-îdF et l’ADEME, rejoints par l’INED et l’IRD, le Collège international des sciences du territoire (CIST) est devenu au 1er janvier 2017 le Collège international des sciences territoriales, fédération de recherche CNRS FR2007 regroupant aujourd’hui 24 équipes de recherche.

Il a pour objectif de contribuer à formaliser et organiser ce champ interdisciplinaire, à une échelle française et internationale notamment européenne, de fédérer les unités de recherche dédiées au territoire, de renforcer le réseau national des équipes qui le composent, de renforcer leurs synergies (thématiques, méthodologie, équipements et bases de données, réponses aux appels d’offre, événements de diffusion de la recherche…) et de développer l’interface recherche-formation (cours en ligne communs, participation aux universités numériques thématiques, projet de master international des sciences du territoire associant les universités de Paris, Besançon, Lausanne, Luxembourg, Louvain-la-Neuve, Metz, Trier, etc.).

Le CIST est un outil de recherche et de formation (masters et doctorats) de haut niveau centré sur les territoires. Il est interdisciplinaire : des géographes, des économistes, des sociologues et des démographes, des historiens, des juristes, des archéologues, des équipes ou programmes pluridisciplinaires. Il est connecté aux sciences de la vie et de la terre, aux sciences de l’ingénieur et à la santé, autour de 7 axes de recherche :

  • Actions & territorialisations (A&T)
  • Information territoriale locale (INFTER)
  • Médias et territoires (MEDIA)
  • Mobilités, identités et territoires (MIT)
  • Temps longs des territoires (PAST)
  • Régionalisation, mondialisations, circulations (REMOC)
  • Territoires et santé (SANTE)

Le CIST possède un vaste réseau international, en particulier en Europe.
Plusieurs équipes de recherche membres du CIST sont associées dans des programmes de recherche européens en réseaux ou des contrats (PCRD, Interreg, ESPON, EEA, Commission européenne, Parlement européen) et bénéficient pour cela du soutien de l’UMS RIATE et du GDR européen (S4). Ces relations internationales de recherche sont doublées par des co-habilitations au niveau des masters, dessinant un réseau fortement structuré avec d’autres universités européennes et hors d’Europe.
Le CIST, qui concerne d’ores et déjà 250 enseignants-chercheurs ou chercheurs (dont 90 HDR), 80 ITA et IATOS, plus de 300 doctorants, est donc un groupe d’échanges scientifiques ambitieux qui connecte des réseaux de recherche territoriale de l’Ile-de-France à ceux de la France, de l’Europe et dans le monde.

Le CIST est également en mesure d’entreprendre des recherches appliquées liées à la demande sociale. Ses équipes sont en interaction avec les professionnels de l’aménagement, de l’environnement et du développement durable des territoires. L’implication de ses partenaires institutionnels offre la garantie d’une bonne interaction entre la recherche sur les territoires, la demande sociale et les pratiques professionnelles (sciences appliquées, études, conseils aux entrepreneurs généraux, possibilités de carrière des doctorants…).

fr_FR