PAST - Territories in the Long Run

The three laboratories involved in this new axis project, with their paleoenvironmental specialists and geoarchaeologists with multiple skills (geomorphology, sedimentology, micromorphology, geochemistry, malacology, palynology, phytolithology, etc.), are at the forefront of the national scene in federating teams working on the relations between ancient societies and their environment. The aim is to deepen our knowledge of society-environment interrelationships (construction of landscapes, use of resources, risks) by paying particular attention to the exploitation of environmental resources and the ways in which societies' practices and management methods have evolved from the beginning of agriculture to the present day.

This new interdisciplinary theme proposes a reflection on temporalities, concerning at the same time:

  • Nested scale issues
  • The study of synchrony and diachrony, in particular the possibilities of comparing the chronologies of societies (archaeology, history) and those derived from naturalistic proxies (relative chronology, chronology based on the various radiometric chronometers, etc.)
  • On the chronological breaks that see the bifurcations of the studied anthropo-systems.

In addition to the methods and tools borrowed from the geosciences, as well as from the archaeosciences, this project relies on digital tools allowing not only the representation of the results but also the discussion of the data produced, by relying, for example in sub-theme 1, on the spatial simulation of the diffusion of archaeomaterials.

Covering a wide range of biomes (from cold environments to the equatorial zone, including Mediterranean and tropical areas), this theme comprises two sub-themes.

Resource use and mobility

This first sub-theme is concerned with "archaeomaterials", which are the raw materials used by ancient populations in the manufacture of everyday or prestige objects, or for construction. These materials bear witness to the exploitation of environmental resources by these populations. Moreover, in many cases, these materials, and/or the objects made from them, were transported and used at varying distances from the sources where they were naturally present ('exotic' materials). This spatial diffusion reflects the mobility of raw materials and objects, but also of populations and techniques. At all times, the preferential choice of certain sources reflects the relative importance of a multitude of factors such as the quality and cost of materials, transport distance, social and political relations and technological projects. In this context, these mobilities reflect a continuous and renewed structuring of territories. This first sub-theme therefore has two objectives. The first, which is more thematic, aims to use the spatial distribution of materials to reconstruct ancient mobilities, in close collaboration with archaeologists, ethnologists and historians. The second, more methodological, aims to propose, in collaboration with computer science colleagues, diffusion models that account for these mobilities and the early structuring of territories.

Anthropisation, environmental management and landscape dynamics

The exploitation of environmental resources leads to the progressive anthropisation of environments, sometimes leading to irreversible changes (cf. Anthropocene). The research conducted in this sub-theme will be centred around two major objectives. The first is methodological and proposes the constitution of new palaeoenvironmental references in order to calibrate a signature of anthropic practices based on the study of pedosedimentary and biological archives. Combining complementary approaches, the reference systems will be set up in close collaboration with our archaeological, ethnological and historical colleagues. Downstream of the first, the second objective is to analyse the respective roles of climatic and anthropic factors in the trajectory of landscapes, in order to compare the response of different biophysical and socio-cultural contexts, particularly during pivotal periods of anthropic origin (neolithisation, agricultural intensification, abandonment, etc.) or climatic origin. The final objective is thus to discuss the impact on landscapes of transformations in past and current management methods and to fuel the discussion on contemporary management methods, in particular in the context of heritage (biodiversity, classified landscapes, etc.).

en_GB

PAST – Temps longs des territoires

Forts de paléoenvironnementalistes et de géoarchéologues aux compétences multiples (géomorphologie, sédimentologie, micromorphologie, géochimie, malacologie, palynologie, phytolithologie…), les trois laboratoires porteurs de ce projet de nouvel axe apparaissent en pointe au niveau nationale pour fédérer les équipes travaillant sur les relations entre les sociétés anciennes et leur environnement. Il s’agit d’approfondir nos connaissances sur les interrelations sociétés-environnement (construction des paysages, utilisations des ressources, risques) en accordant un intérêt particulier à l’exploitation des ressources environnementales et aux modalités d’évolution des pratiques et des modes de gestion des sociétés du début de l’agriculture jusqu’à aujourd’hui.


Ce nouvel axe interdisciplinaire propose une réflexion sur les temporalités, concernant à la fois :

  1. les questions d’échelles emboîtées
  2. l’étude de la synchronie et de la diachronie, en particulier les possibilités de comparer les chronologies des sociétés (archéologie, histoire) et celles issues des proxys naturalistes (chronologie relative, chronologie fondée sur les divers chronomètres radiométriques, etc.)
  3. sur les ruptures chronologiques qui voient les bifurcations des anthropo-systèmes étudiés.

Outre les méthodes et outils empruntés aux géosciences, comme aux archéosciences, ce projet s’appuie sur les outils numériques permettant non seulement de représenter les résultats mais également de discuter les données produites, en s’appuyant, par exemple dans le sous-axe 1, sur la simulation spatiale de la diffusion des archéomatériaux.

Portant sur une grande diversité de biomes (depuis les milieux froids jusqu’à la zone équatoriale, en passant par les espaces méditerranéens et tropicaux), cet axe comprend deux sous-axes.

1- exploitations des ressources et mobilités

Ce premier sous axe s’intéresse aux « archéomatériaux » qui sont les matières premières précocement utilisées par les populations anciennes pour la fabrication d’objets quotidiens ou de prestige, ou encore pour la construction. Ces matériaux témoignent de l’exploitation des ressources environnementales par ces populations. En outre, dans de nombreux cas, ces matériaux et/ou les objets qui en sont issus ont été transportés et employés à des distances variables des sources où ils sont naturellement présents (matériaux « exotiques »). Cette diffusion spatiale témoigne à la fois de la mobilité des matières premières et des objets, mais aussi des populations et des techniques. A toutes les époques, le choix préférentiel de certaines sources traduit l’importance relative d’une multitude de facteurs comme la qualité et le coût des matériaux, la distance de transport, les relations sociales et politiques ou encore les projets technologiques. Dans ce contexte ces mobilités témoignent d’une structuration continue et renouvelée des territoires. Ce premier sous axe comporte donc deux objectifs. L’un, davantage thématique, vise utiliser la diffusion spatiale des matériaux pour reconstituer les mobilités anciennes, en étroite collaborations avec les collègues archéologues, ethnologues et historiens. Le second, davantage méthodologique, vise à proposer, en collaboration avec les collègues informaticiens, des modèles de diffusion rendant compte de ces mobilités et de la structuration précoce des territoires.


2- anthropisation, gestion des milieux et dynamiques paysagères

L’exploitation des ressources environnementale conduit à l’anthropisation progressive des milieux, jusqu’à des modifications parfois irréversibles (cf. Anthropocène). Les recherches menées dans ce sous-axe seront centrées autour de deux objectifs majeurs. Le premier est méthodologique et propose la constitution de nouveaux référentiels paléoenvironnementaux afin de calibrer une signature des pratiques anthropiques à partir de l’étude des archives pédosédimentaires et biologiques. Combinant des approches complémentaires, les référentiels seront constitués en étroite collaboration avec nos collègues archéologues, ethnologues et historiens. À l’aval du premier, le deuxième objectif est d’analyser le rôle respectif des facteurs climatiques et anthropiques dans la trajectoire des paysages, afin de comparer la réponse de différents contextes biophysiques et socio-culturels en particulier lors de périodes charnières d’origine anthropique (néolithisation, intensification agricole, déprise…) ou climatique. L’objectif final est ainsi de discuter de l’impact sur les paysages des transformations des modes de gestion passées et actuelles et d’alimenter la discussion autour des modalités de la gestion contemporaine, en particulier dans le cadre de la patrimonialisation (biodiversité, paysages classés…).

fr_FR